معاهدة البلاستيك العالمية: اجعلها جريئة ، اجعلها ملزمة

بفضل العمل الدؤوب الذي تقوم به حركة #breakfreefromplastic وأعضاء GAIA في جميع أنحاء العالم ، في شهر مارس من هذا العام ، قررت جمعية الأمم المتحدة للبيئة تفويض إنشاء أول معاهدة للبلاستيك في العالم ، وهي قانون دولي ملزم قانونًا يهدف إلى الحد من التلوث البلاستيكي في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ويغطي دورة الحياة الكاملة للبلاستيك. هذه خطوة تاريخية إلى الأمام في مكافحة التلوث البلاستيكي ، ولم تكن لتتحقق لولا وجود حركة متنوعة لجامعي النفايات ونشطاء المجتمع في الخطوط الأمامية ودعاة عدم وجود نفايات يطالبون بتغيير منهجي. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال أمامنا طريق طويل - ستكون هناك سلسلة من الاجتماعات حتى نهاية عام 2024 يتم خلالها تشكيل المعاهدة. سوف يكون GAIA وحلفاؤنا حاضرين للتأكد من تمثيل قضايانا ، ولكن الأمر سيتطلب ضغطًا مستمرًا من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم لضمان حصولنا على معاهدة قوية. سوف يتتبع GAIA وأعضاؤنا وشركاؤنا مجمل المفاوضات لتطوير المعاهدة نفسها خلال العامين المقبلين ، للتأكد من أنها قوية بقدر ما يجب أن تكون لمواجهة حجم الأزمة.


آخر التحديثات

تقديم التحالف العالمي لبدائل الحرق إلى INC2

للاطلاع على موقف GAIA بشأن ما يجب تحقيقه في INC2 في وقت لاحق من هذا العام ، يرجى الاطلاع على ما قدمناه أدناه.

بيان صحفي: رد فعل GAIA و BFFP على إغلاق INC1

الاجتماع الأول للجنة الحكومية الدولية (INC-1) على الصعيد الدولي صك ملزم قانونًا بشأن التلوث البلاستيكي بدعوة من برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة (UNEP) اختتمت اليوم بمزيج من اللحظات المرتفعة والمنخفضة ، مما يمهد الطريق لعملية مدتها عامان يمكن أن تؤدي إلى واحدة من أهم الاتفاقات البيئية متعددة الأطراف في التاريخ. 

بيان صحفي: الاعتراف التاريخي بجامعي النفايات في مفاوضات معاهدة البلاستيك

تم الإعلان عن تشكيل مجموعة أصدقاء ملتقطي النفايات في 29 نوفمبر / تشرين الثاني أثناء المفاوضات من أجل إبرام معاهدة عالمية للبلاستيك. تمثل هذه اللحظة التاريخية اعترافًا غير مسبوق بحقوق ومهارات وأهمية قطاع النفايات غير الرسمي ؛ لم تلتزم الدول رسميًا من قبل بالدعوة نيابة عن ملتقطي النفايات في سياق المفاوضات الدولية.

المدونة: ما هي النقاط الرئيسية التي يجب على الاجتماع الأول للجنة المفاوضات الحكومية الدولية INC-1 أن يكون ناجحًا حقًا؟

يبدأ الاجتماع الأول للجنة المفاوضات الحكومية الدولية (INC-1) ، المنظمة المسؤولة عن تطوير المعاهدة المستقبلية ، في 28 نوفمبر في بونتا ديل إستي ، أوروغواي. سيعتمد نجاح الاجتماع الأول للجنة التفاوض الحكومية الدولية على عدة عوامل موضحة هنا.

تعريف المنتجات البلاستيكية والمواد والبوليمرات: اقتراح

هناك حاجة إلى تعريفات مناسبة للمنتجات البلاستيكية والبوليمرات في معاهدة البلاستيك العالمية لالتقاط النطاق الكامل لمصادر التلوث البلاستيكي (نوفمبر 2022).

توصيات لجنة التفاوض الحكومية الدولية 1

توصيات GAIA لجولة المفاوضات الحكومية الدولية الأولى (نوفمبر 2022).

تقديم لعملية INC بشأن التلوث البلاستيكي 15 يوليو 2022

توصيات GAIA لعملية التفاوض نحو صك عالمي بشأن التلوث البلاستيكي.


اقرأ سلسلة موجزات السياسة

أزمة البلاستيك: التحديات والتقدم والعلاقة مع جامعي النفايات

يجب أن تتضمن المفاوضات الاعتراف بالعمل التاريخي لأولئك الذين استعادوا المزيد من المواد وبأكثر الطرق فعالية: ملتقطو النفايات.

روميل كابريرا / GAIA ، 2019. ملتقطو النفايات يجمعون النفايات المفصولة عن المنازل. مدينة تاكلوبان ، الفلبين.

نظرة عامة على معاهدة البلاستيك/Tratado sobre plásticos

التلوث البلاستيكي لا يحترم الحدود. إنه في الهواء الذي نتنفسه ، والطعام الذي نأكله ، والماء الذي نشربه ، وحتى في أجسادنا. مطلوب صك قانوني ملزم جديد ، يغطي دورة حياة البلاستيك بأكملها ، لمعالجة هذه الأزمة الكوكبية.


تجارة نفايات البلاستيك

كبار المصدرين مثل الولايات المتحدة وألمانيا والمملكة المتحدة واليابان وأستراليا يضعون عبئًا سامًا غير متناسب على البيئة والمجتمعات في البلدان المستوردة. يمكن لمعاهدة البلاستيك العالمية أن تسن تدابير أكثر صرامة بشأن تجارة النفايات لمنع الظلم البيئي.


جامعي البلاستيك والنفايات / ريسيكلورز

يستهلك البلاستيك نسبة كبيرة من النفايات التي يتعامل معها ملتقطو النفايات. وبالتالي ، فهي واحدة من أكثر مجموعات الاحتلال ضعفاً والتي يمكن أن تتأثر بمعاهدة البلاستيك العالمية. يجب أن تحدد المعاهدة الأطر القانونية المطلوبة لتحسين ظروف العمل لجامعي النفايات.


السموم والصحة

يحتوي البلاستيك على مواد كيميائية سامة تتسرب إلى طعامنا ومياهنا وتربتنا. من بين حوالي 10,000 مادة كيميائية مستخدمة كمضافات بلاستيكية ، تمت دراسة القليل منها على نطاق واسع ، ناهيك عن التنظيم. يجب أن تتناول المعاهدة العبء السام للبلاستيك.


البلاستيك وتغير المناخ / Los plásticos y el cambio climático

يعد البلاستيك مساهماً هاماً في تغير المناخ طوال دورة حياته. بحلول عام 2050 ، ستستهلك الانبعاثات من البلاستيك وحده أكثر من ثلث ميزانية الكربون المتبقية لهدف 1.5 درجة مئوية. يجب أن تفرض معاهدة البلاستيك أهدافًا ملزمة قانونًا للحد من استخدام البلاستيك.


إعادة تدوير المواد الكيميائية وتحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود

في مواجهة الضغط المتزايد من المشرعين والمجتمع المدني لتقليل إنتاج البلاستيك وزيادة الوعي بحدود إعادة التدوير الميكانيكي ، كانت صناعة البتروكيماويات تروج "لإعادة التدوير" الكيميائي و "تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود" كحل أساسي للتلوث البلاستيكي. ومع ذلك ، بعد مليارات الدولارات وعقود من التطوير ، فإن هذه الأساليب لا تعمل كما هو معلن عنها. تتعرض معاهدة البلاستيك للتقويض إذا تبنت هذه الحلول الخاطئة المدعومة من الصناعة.

حرق النفايات وحرق النفايات في قمائن الأسمنت

ينتج عن حرق النفايات تلوث مناخي ومواد كيميائية سامة أخرى ، وهي الطريقة الأقل كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة والأكثر تكلفة لإنتاج الطاقة. يجب أن تتبنى معاهدة البلاستيك وقفاً اختيارياً للمحارق الجديدة وأن تشجع خارطة طريق للتخلص التدريجي من جميع المحارق الحالية بحلول عام 2030.

حياد البلاستيك والائتمان

توفر معاهدة البلاستيك العالمية فرصة مهمة لتثبيط أو حظر استخدام الأرصدة البلاستيكية رسميًا قبل أن تنتشر على نطاق واسع. سيؤدي القيام بذلك إلى تجنب المقدار الهائل من احتياجات الرقابة التنظيمية - في كل من القطاعين الخاص والعام - للتنظيم و
إدارة أسواق الائتمان البلاستيكية الدولية. يمكن إنفاق الجهود الجماعية بشكل أفضل على تقليل إنتاج البلاستيك بسرعة.

تمويل لا نفايات

يتطلب الانتقال من اقتصاد يعتمد على البلاستيك إلى اقتصاد دائري خالٍ من النفايات تعبئة وتخصيصًا فعالين للموارد المالية. يلعب التمويل العام والخاص دورًا متميزًا ومتقاطعًا في دعم وتوسيع نطاق الابتكارات الخاصة بمنع النفايات ، وإعادة التصميم ، وأنظمة التسليم وإعادة الاستخدام البديلة ، فضلاً عن تحسين أنظمة جمع النفايات وإعادة تدويرها الحالية.

مسؤولية المنتج الممتدة

تسعى سياسات مسؤولية المنتج الممتدة (EPR) إلى تحسين الأداء البيئي والاجتماعي للمنتجات من خلال تحميل المنتجين ومالكي العلامات التجارية المسؤولية عن دورة الحياة الكاملة لمنتجاتهم. يجب أن تتضمن معاهدة البلاستيك العالمية سياسات EPR جيدة التصميم ، وتوجيه المنتجين إلى إعطاء الأولوية لحلول التنقيب والإنتاج.

البلاستيك الحيوي

يجب أن تركز معاهدة البلاستيك العالمية على تقليل البلاستيك وإعادة استخدامه ، بدلاً من استبدال عنصر بلاستيكي أحادي الاستخدام بآخر قائم على أساس حيوي أو قابل للتحلل أو قابل للتحلل.

انتقل
إلى أسفل

🔴On Thursday (Feb. 2nd) I will be sharing CIEL's perspectives on the #PlasticsTreaty in a panel organised by the Asian Research Institute for Environmental Law, UNEP-AP & LAWASIA
REGISTER: http://bit.ly/407zkAv

This week the Scientific and Advisory Committee of the Wider Caribbean Region Protocol on Land-Based Pollution (LBS STAC6) will meet to discuss the workplace for 2023-2024 including measure on the #plasticstreaty:
READ: https://gefcrew.org//carrcu/LBSSTAC6/LBS_STAC6_WG.44.3_EN_AMEP%20Workplan.pdf

The Ellen MacArthur Foundation @circulareconomy "welcome that governments in the High Ambition Coalition support a global goal to end plastic pollution by 2040."

Read the close to 200 submissions from stakeholders to the #Plasticstreaty #INC2👇

https://www.unep.org/events/conference/second-session-intergovernmental-negotiating-committee-develop-international

يمكنك تنظيف الشاطئ - لكن البلاستيك دائمًا ما يعود. يمكن أن يساعدنا تأمين #PlasticTreaty العالمي في الأمم المتحدة في وقف # التلوث_البلاستيكي مرة واحدة وإلى الأبد 🙅

زعماء العالم يجتمعون هذا الخريف. طالبوا بدعم معاهدة ✨strong! GreenpeaceCa # بلاستيك https://act.gp/39BBQcQ

في كل عام ، ينتج العالم 300 مليون طن من النفايات البلاستيكية - ما يقرب من وزن جميع البشر.

وقع على العريضة لدعوة قادة العالم إلى تبني # معالجة بلاستيكية قوية لمعالجة أزمة # البلاستيك: http://only.one/act/plasticstreatyonlyone

عرض المزيد

عنوان هذه الكتلة

وصف لهذه الكتلة. استخدم هذه المساحة لوصف الكتلة الخاصة بك. أي نص سيفي بالغرض. وصف لهذه الكتلة. يمكنك استخدام هذه المساحة لوصف الكتلة الخاصة بك.

Global Plastics Treaty: Make it Bold, Make it Binding

Thanks to the tireless work of the #breakfreefromplastic movement and GAIA members around the world, this March, the United Nations Environment Assembly decided on a mandate to create the world’s first Plastics Treaty, a legally binding international law aimed at reducing plastic pollution worldwide, covering the full life-cycle of plastic. This is a historic step forward in the fight against plastic pollution, and would not have been possible without a diverse movement of waste pickers, frontline community activists, and zero waste advocates demanding systemic change. However, there’s still a long road ahead–there will be a series of meetings through the end of 2024 during which the treaty will take shape. GAIA and our allies will be present to make sure our issues are represented, but it will take continuing pressure from people all over the world to ensure that we get a strong treaty. GAIA and our members and partners will be tracking the entirety of the negotiations to develop the treaty itself over the next two years, to ensure that it is as strong as it must be to meet the scale of the crisis.


Latest Updates

Global Alliance for Incinerator Alternatives Submission to INC2

For GAIA’s position on what needs to be achieved in INC2 coming up later this year, please see our submission below.

Press Release: GAIA and BFFP React to the Closing of INC1

The first intergovernmental committee meeting (INC-1) for an internationally legally binding instrument on plastic pollution convened by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) concluded today with a mix of high and low moments, setting the stage for a two-year-long process that could result in one of the most significant multilateral environmental agreements in history. 

Press Release: Historic Recognition of Waste Pickers in Plastics Treaty Negotiations

The formation of a Group of Friends of Waste Pickers was announced on November 29 at the negotiations towards a global plastics treaty. This historic moment marks unprecedented recognition of the rights, skills, and importance of the informal waste sector; never before have countries formally committed to advocate on behalf of waste pickers in the context of international negotiations.

Blog: What are the key points for the first meeting of the Intergovernmental Negotiations Committee INC-1 to be truly successful?

The first meeting of the Intergovernmental Negotiations Committee (INC-1), the organization in charge of developing the future treaty, begins on November 28 in Punta del Este, Uruguay. The success of the first meeting of the INC will depend on several factors explained here.

Defining Plastic Products, Materials and Polymers: A Proposal

Adequate definitions of plastic products and polymers are needed in the global plastic treaty to capture the full range of sources of plastic pollution (November 2022).

Recommendations for INC1

GAIA’s recommendations for the first intergovernmental negotiation round (November 2022).

Submission to the INC Process on Plastic Pollution July 15, 2022

GAIA’s recommendations for the negotiation process towards a global instrument on plastic pollution.


Read the Policy Briefing Series

Plastics Crisis: Challenges, Advances and Relationship with Waste Pickers

Negotiations must include the recognition of the historical work of those who have recovered more materials and in the most efficient way: the waste pickers.

Rommel Cabrera/GAIA, 2019. Waste pickers collecting separated waste from households. Tacloban City, the Philippines.

Overview of the Plastics Treaty/Tratado sobre plásticos

Plastic pollution does not respect borders. It is in the air we breathe, the food we eat, the water we drink, and even in our bodies. A new binding legal instrument, covering the entire lifecycle of plastic, is required to tackle this planetary crisis.


The Plastic Waste Trade

Top exporters such as the United States, Germany, the UK, Japan and Australia are placing a disproportionate toxic burden on the environment and communities in importing countries. A Global Plastics Treaty can enact stricter measures on the waste trade to prevent environmental injustices.


Plastic and Waste Pickers/Recicladores

Plastic takes up a large percentage of the waste handled by waste pickers. Consequently, they are one of the most vulnerable occupation groups that stand to be impacted by the global plastics treaty. The treaty must establish the legal frameworks required to improve working conditions for waste pickers.


Toxics and Health

Plastic contains toxic chemicals that leach into our food, water, and soil. Out of about 10,000 chemicals used as plastic additives, few have been widely studied, let alone regulated. A treaty must address plastic’s toxic burden.


Plastic and Climate Change/Los plásticos y el cambio climático

Plastic is a significant contributor to climate change throughout its lifecycle. By 2050, emissions from plastic alone will take up over a third of the remaining carbon budget for a 1.5 °C target. A plastics treaty must impose legally-binding plastic reduction targets.


Chemical “Recycling” and Plastic-to-Fuel

Faced with increasing pressure from lawmakers and civil society to reduce plastic production and greater awareness of the limits of mechanical recycling, the petrochemical industry has been peddling chemical “recycling” and “plastic-to-fuel” as a primary solution to plastic pollution. However, after billions of dollars and decades of development, these approaches do not work as advertised. A plastics treaty stands to be undermined if it embraces these industry-backed false solutions.

Waste Incineration and Burning Waste in Cement Kilns

Burning waste emits climate pollution and other toxic chemicals, and is the least energy-efficient and most costly method of energy production. A plastics treaty must adopt a moratorium on new incinerators and encourage a roadmap to phase out all existing incinerators by 2030.

Plastic Neutrality and Credit

The global plastics treaty provides an important opportunity to officially discourage or ban the use of plastic credits before they become widespread. Doing so would avoid the incredible amount of regulatory oversight needs —both in the private and public sectors— to organize and
manage international plastic credit markets. The collective efforts could be better spent on reducing plastic production rapidly.

Zero Waste Finance

A transition from a plastic-reliant economy toward a circular zero waste economy requires effective mobilization and allocation of financial resources. Public and private finance have distinct and intersecting roles to play in supporting and scaling up innovations for waste prevention, redesign, alternative delivery and reuse systems as well as improving existing waste collection and recycling systems.

Extended Producer Responsibility

Extended producer responsibility (EPR) policies seek to improve the environmental and social performance of products by holding producers and brand owners accountable for the entire lifecycle of their products. The global plastics treaty must embed well-designed EPR policies in it, guiding producers to prioritize upstream solutions.

Bioplastics

The global Plastics Treaty must focus on plastic reduction and reuse, instead of substituting a plastic single-use item for a bio-based, biodegradable, or compostable one.

scroll
down

Over the years it has been discussed whether #plasticpollution regulation is sufficiently based on science. We unfolded the science behind in our new paper. Thanks for leading Maria. @RegEngrg @nikolineoturai #PlasticsTreaty #microplastics @Richardjcronin https://microplastics.springeropen.com/articles/10.1186/s43591-022-00046-y

🚨🚨🚨BREAKING: 2023 #WorldEnvironmentDay thème is …🥁🥁🥁🥁🥁#plasticpollution
#PlasticsTreaty
📍Host Country: Côte d'Ivoire
🗓️5 June.
https://worldenvironmentday.global

ICC Chair Sara Olsvig presented at the second intergovernmental negotiating committee on the creation of a global plastics treaty. She argued for the “precautionary approach” (begins at 7:50) https://bit.ly/3HlFRza #Inuit #PlasticsTreaty @UNEP

Like #father ,Like #Son. He has joined the team of #Volunteers to get rid of #plasticpollution and civic educate fellows

Why can't you support him and us by donating to;

https://gofund.me/642d455e

#ClimateAction #PlasticsTreaty #plasticfree #cop26 #COP27 #oceans #WasteToWealth

ICC Chair Sara Olsvig presented at the second intergovernmental negotiating committee on the creation of a global plastics treaty. She argued for the “precautionary approach” (begins at 7:50) https://bit.ly/3HlFRza #Inuit #PlasticsTreaty @UNEP

Load More

Title for This Block

Description for this block. Use this space for describing your block. Any text will do. Description for this block. You can use this space for describing your block.