气候

城市气候解决方案

凭借其可转移多达 85% 的所有废物的能力,零废物是一种有效的气候解决方案,有可能显着减少传统工业规模废物管理系统的温室气体排放。 今天的城市正在通过零废物计划和政策采取具体的气候行动,这些计划和政策因其成本效益、公众吸引力和整体积极的环境影响而越来越受到关注。

通过零废物战略,我们可以减少比废物部门产生的更多的排放。 这是因为零废物减少了不同经济部门的排放——从能源到采矿,再到运输到农业。 这是城市和社区应对气候变化的具体的、实践性的战略。 通过将材料返还给经济,将有机物返还给土壤,零废物减少了排放,创造了有意义的就业机会,并刺激了当地经济。

在 GAIA,气候已融入我们所有的工作。 我们倡导强有力的气候科学和政策,以确保真正的气候解决方案,并阐明经济与生态福利之间的联系。 我们的研究和政策活动表明,创造就业机会和气候行动齐头并进。

打击垃圾焚烧炉、“塑料抵消信用”和塑料燃料技术等虚假解决方案对于减少排放至关重要,也是我们使命的关键部分。 我们这样做:

  • 提供对焚烧、化学回收、塑料燃料和其他被错误宣传为气候解决方案的技术的气候影响的技术分析
  • 反对对污染行业的补贴,这些行业将资金从真正的气候解决方案中转移出去
  • 反对碳抵消信用、塑料抵消和其他允许焚化炉和石化行业增加排放的会计噱头

作为一个不断发展的全球网络,我们的工作包括与其他运动合作并加强其他运动,例如“摆脱塑料”和“拾荒者联盟”。 我们最伟大的胜利之一包括 与拾荒者建立联合气候正义运动 重新调整气候融资的方向,远离焚烧,并将焚烧炉排除在欧盟分类法之外——欧盟将支持的气候友好型战略总清单。

Climate

CLIMATE SOLUTIONS FOR CITIES

With its proven ability to divert as much as 85% of all waste, zero waste is an effective climate solution that has the potential to significantly reduce greenhouse emissions from traditional industrial-scale waste management systems. Cities today are taking concrete climate action through zero waste programs and policies, which are gaining traction due to their cost effectiveness, public appeal, and overall positive environmental impact.

Through zero waste strategies, we can reduce more emissions than the waste sector produces. This is because zero waste reduces emissions throughout different sectors of the economy—from energy to mining to transport to agriculture. It is a concrete, hands-on strategy for cities and communities to tackle climate change. By returning materials to the economy and organics to the soil, zero waste reduces emissions, creates meaningful jobs, and stimulates local economies.

At GAIA, climate is woven into all of our work. We advocate for strong climate science and policy that ensures real climate solutions and we shed light on the links between economic and ecologic welfare. Our research and policy campaigns demonstrate that job production and climate action go hand in hand.

Fighting false solutions, such as incinerators, “plastic offset credits,” and plastic-to-fuel technologies is essential to reducing emissions and a critical part of our mission. We do this by:

  • Providing technical analyses of the climate impacts of incineration, chemical recycling, plastic-to-fuel and other technologies falsely billed as climate solutions
  • Campaigning against subsidies for polluting industries that divert funds from real climate solutions
  • Campaigning against carbon offset credits, plastic offsets, and other accounting gimmicks that would allow incinerators and the petrochemical industry to increase emissions

As a growing global network, our work includes collaborating with and strengthening other movements such as Break Free From Plastic and waste pickers’ alliances. One of our greatest victories includes building a joint climate justice movement with waste pickers to to reorient climate finance away from incineration and keeping incinerators out of the EU Taxonomy — the master list of climate-friendly strategies that the EU will support.