مناخ

حلول مناخية للمدن

بفضل قدرتها المثبتة على تحويل ما يصل إلى 85٪ من جميع النفايات ، فإن صفر نفايات هو حل مناخي فعال لديه القدرة على الحد بشكل كبير من انبعاثات الاحتباس الحراري من أنظمة إدارة النفايات على نطاق صناعي تقليدي. تتخذ المدن اليوم إجراءات مناخية ملموسة من خلال برامج وسياسات خالية من النفايات ، والتي تكتسب قوة دفع بسبب فعاليتها من حيث التكلفة ، والنداء العام ، والأثر البيئي الإيجابي العام.

من خلال استراتيجيات صفر نفايات ، يمكننا تقليل انبعاثات أكثر مما ينتجها قطاع النفايات. وذلك لأن عدم وجود نفايات يقلل الانبعاثات في مختلف قطاعات الاقتصاد - من الطاقة إلى التعدين إلى النقل إلى الزراعة. إنها استراتيجية ملموسة وعملية للمدن والمجتمعات لمعالجة تغير المناخ. من خلال إعادة المواد إلى الاقتصاد والمواد العضوية إلى التربة ، فإن انعدام النفايات يقلل الانبعاثات ويخلق وظائف ذات مغزى ويحفز الاقتصادات المحلية.

في GAIA ، يتم نسج المناخ في جميع أعمالنا. نحن ندعو لعلوم وسياسات مناخية قوية تضمن حلول مناخية حقيقية ونلقي الضوء على الروابط بين الرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية. تُظهر حملاتنا البحثية والسياساتية أن إنتاج الوظائف والعمل المناخي يسيران جنبًا إلى جنب.

إن محاربة الحلول الكاذبة ، مثل المحارق ، و "أرصدة الأوفست البلاستيكية" ، وتقنيات تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود أمر ضروري لتقليل الانبعاثات وجزء حاسم من مهمتنا. نقوم بذلك عن طريق:

  • تقديم تحليلات فنية للتأثيرات المناخية للحرق وإعادة التدوير الكيميائي وتحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود وغيرها من التقنيات التي تم وصفها بشكل خاطئ كحلول مناخية
  • شن حملة ضد الإعانات المالية للصناعات الملوثة التي تحول الأموال عن الحلول المناخية الحقيقية
  • شن حملة ضد ائتمانات تعويض الكربون ، والتعويضات البلاستيكية ، وغيرها من وسائل التحايل المحاسبية التي من شأنها أن تسمح للمحارق وصناعة البتروكيماويات بزيادة الانبعاثات

بصفتنا شبكة عالمية متنامية ، فإن عملنا يشمل التعاون مع الحركات الأخرى وتعزيزها مثل Break Free From Plastic وتحالفات ملتقطي النفايات. واحدة من أعظم انتصاراتنا تشمل بناء حركة مشتركة للعدالة المناخية مع ملتقطي النفايات لإعادة توجيه تمويل المناخ بعيدًا عن الحرق وإبقاء المحارق خارج تصنيف الاتحاد الأوروبي - القائمة الرئيسية للاستراتيجيات الصديقة للمناخ التي سيدعمها الاتحاد الأوروبي.

Climate

CLIMATE SOLUTIONS FOR CITIES

With its proven ability to divert as much as 85% of all waste, zero waste is an effective climate solution that has the potential to significantly reduce greenhouse emissions from traditional industrial-scale waste management systems. Cities today are taking concrete climate action through zero waste programs and policies, which are gaining traction due to their cost effectiveness, public appeal, and overall positive environmental impact.

Through zero waste strategies, we can reduce more emissions than the waste sector produces. This is because zero waste reduces emissions throughout different sectors of the economy—from energy to mining to transport to agriculture. It is a concrete, hands-on strategy for cities and communities to tackle climate change. By returning materials to the economy and organics to the soil, zero waste reduces emissions, creates meaningful jobs, and stimulates local economies.

At GAIA, climate is woven into all of our work. We advocate for strong climate science and policy that ensures real climate solutions and we shed light on the links between economic and ecologic welfare. Our research and policy campaigns demonstrate that job production and climate action go hand in hand.

Fighting false solutions, such as incinerators, “plastic offset credits,” and plastic-to-fuel technologies is essential to reducing emissions and a critical part of our mission. We do this by:

  • Providing technical analyses of the climate impacts of incineration, chemical recycling, plastic-to-fuel and other technologies falsely billed as climate solutions
  • Campaigning against subsidies for polluting industries that divert funds from real climate solutions
  • Campaigning against carbon offset credits, plastic offsets, and other accounting gimmicks that would allow incinerators and the petrochemical industry to increase emissions

As a growing global network, our work includes collaborating with and strengthening other movements such as Break Free From Plastic and waste pickers’ alliances. One of our greatest victories includes building a joint climate justice movement with waste pickers to to reorient climate finance away from incineration and keeping incinerators out of the EU Taxonomy — the master list of climate-friendly strategies that the EU will support.