الذهاب إلى الصفر نفايات

ما هو صفر نفايات؟

"الحفاظ على جميع الموارد عن طريق الإنتاج والاستهلاك وإعادة الاستخدام والاستعادة المسؤولة للمنتجات والتعبئة والمواد دون حرق ، ودون تصريفات في الأرض أو المياه أو الهواء التي تهدد البيئة أو صحة الإنسان." - التحالف الدولي للنفايات الصفرية

يعد اقتصادنا الاستخراجي الحالي جزءًا من نظام يرسل مليارات الأطنان من النفايات سنويًا إلى أرضنا ومحيطاتنا وهوائنا ، ويستمر هذا في إيذاء المزيد والمزيد من الناس. تستبدل النفايات الصفرية هذا النموذج أحادي الاتجاه بنظام دوري أكثر استدامة يركز على منع النفايات ويؤكد سلاسل المسؤولية والاتصال والشمولية داخل المجتمعات ، مثل التكامل الرسمي لجامعي النفايات غير الرسميين و. يعد التعريف الذي تمت مراجعته من قبل الأقران والمعترف به دوليًا لـ "صفر نفايات" من قبل Zero Waste International Alliance أمرًا مهمًا لتحديده بل والأكثر أهمية دعمه ، حيث أن المسار إلى صفر من النفايات سيكون فريدًا لكل مدينة ومجتمع ولكن القيم الأساسية التي توجه يتم تقاسم الجهود التي لا تهدر ولا تتزعزع.

على المستوى العملي ، صفر هدر هو في الوقت نفسه هدف وخطة عمل. الهدف هو ضمان استعادة الموارد وحماية الموارد الطبيعية النادرة من خلال إنهاء التخلص من النفايات السامة في المحارقومقالب ومكبات النفايات وإنشاء أنظمة اجتماعية وبيئية عادلة في مكانها. تشمل الخطة الحد من النفايات ، وإعادة الاستخدام ، والتسميد ، وإعادة التدوير ، والتغييرات في عادات الاستهلاك، وإعادة التصميم الصناعي — الاستراتيجيات التي خلق مجتمعات أكثر مرونةوالحلول المناخية والعدالة الاجتماعية والبيئات الصحية.

وبالتالي ، فإن صفر نفايات هو وسيلة لتحقيق الأهداف البيئية وأداة شاملة للتدخل الاجتماعي من أجل تحقيق الرفاهية للجميع.

صفر نفايات هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نأخذ بها ، ونصنع ، ونهدر.

5
أركان صفر نفايات
1
ضع هدفًا لـ Zero Waste
2
محاسبة المنتجين
3
شجع عادات الاستهلاك المسؤول
4
بناء البنية التحتية صفر النفايات
5
إعطاء الأولوية للعدالة الاجتماعية والبيئية

لماذا لا توجد نفايات مهمة

يولد عالمنا حاليًا 2.01 مليار طن من النفايات سنويًا ، وما لم يتم اتخاذ إجراء كبير ، فمن المتوقع أن تزداد النفايات بنسبة 70٪ لتصل إلى 3.4 مليار طن بحلول عام 2050. كل دقيقة ، يتم إلقاء شاحنة قمامة واحدة من البلاستيك في محيطاتنا ، مما يؤدي إلى تلويث ليس فقط محيطاتنا وكذلك أجسامنا تحتوي على مواد بلاستيكية دقيقة في طعامنا وهواءنا ومياه الشرب. في أثناء، يتم حرق النفايات في المحارق حول العالم، مما يتسبب في انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري والمعادن الثقيلة والملوثات العضوية الثابتة التي تسمم المجتمعات المحيطة -الإضرار بشكل غير متناسب بالمجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض ، والمجتمعات الملونة ، والمجتمعات المهمشة ، والعديد من المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء جنوب الكرة الأرضية.

تتطلب معالجة أزمة النفايات الحالية تغييرًا منهجيًا. صفر نفايات هو حل حقيقي مبني على 5 ركائز تحسن حياة الناس وتحمي بيئتنا. من خلال السياسات والبرامج والبنية التحتية لتقليل تدفقات النفايات البلدية وإدارة ما تبقى بشكل مستدام ، يمكن للمدن دعم التنمية الاقتصادية المحلية وسبل العيش ، وتحسين جودة الهواء ، والتخفيف من تغير المناخ.

© Anto Astudillo / GAIA

لماذا لا يمكن الوصول إلى نفايات

صفر نفايات طموح ، لكنه ليس بعيد المنال ولا جزء من مستقبل بعيد المنال. في البلدات الصغيرة والمدن الكبيرة ، في المجتمعات الغنية والفقيرة ، في الشمال والجنوب العالمي ، تحرز الخطط المبتكرة المعمول بها اليوم تقدمًا حقيقيًا نحو هدف صفر نفايات.

لا يعني التخطيط لمدينة أو مجتمع خالٍ من النفايات بالضرورة عدم إنتاج أي نفايات. كما هو الحال مع العديد من السياسات الأخرى ، فإن صفر نفايات هو مسار لتجنب الهدر من خلال التخلص في النهاية من المواد التي لا يمكن إعادة استخدامها أو إعادة تدويرها أو تحويلها إلى سماد بأمان. على غرار مدينة تضع هدفًا لحدوث صفر وفيات بين المشاة ، تؤكد أهداف صفر نفايات أن نظامنا الحالي غير مقبول. من خلال تنفيذ خطط صفر نفايات ، تبني المدن السياسات والبرامج والبنية التحتية اللازمة للاقتراب من هدف الصفر قدر الإمكان.

تتخذ المدن حول العالم بالفعل إجراءات لتحقيق صفر نفايات. التزمت 400 بلدية بعدم وجود نفايات في أوروبا وحدها ، وفي جميع المدن أوروبا و آسيا يقومون بنمذجة حلول صفر نفايات تقلل من النفايات بنسبة تصل إلى 80٪! من خلال ريادتها لأنظمة صفر نفايات ، وفرت هذه المدن الأموال ، وخفضت بشكل كبير من كمية النفايات التي تولدها ، وخلق وظائف مستدامة.

© روميل كابريرا / جايا

لماذا تعمل Zero Waste

 

48% من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون العالمية يمكن تخفيضها بحلول عام 2030 من خلال التحول إلى اقتصاد دائري.

تنتج أنظمة صفر نفايات ما يصل إلى 200 مرات العديد من الوظائف مثل مدافن النفايات والمحارق.

يتجنب Zero Waste التأثيرات الناتجة عن المحارق ومدافن النفايات والحرق في الهواء الطلق.

Going Zero Waste

What is Zero Waste?

“The conservation of all resources by means of responsible production, consumption, reuse, and recovery of products, packaging, and materials without burning, and with no discharges to land, water, or air that threaten the environment or human health.” – Zero Waste International Alliance

Our current extractive economy is part of a system that sends billions of tons of waste a year into our land, oceans and air, and that continues to harm more and more people. Zero waste replaces this one-way model with a more sustainable, cyclical system that focuses on waste prevention and emphasizes chains of responsibility, connectivity, and inclusivity within communities, such as the formal integration of informal waste pickers and. The peer-reviewed and internationally recognized definition of “zero waste” by the Zero Waste International Alliance is important to pinpoint and even more important to uphold, as the path to zero waste will be unique to every city and community but the underlying values that direct zero waste efforts are shared and unwavering.

On a practical level, zero waste is both a goal and a plan of action. The goal is to ensure resource recovery and protect scarce natural resources by ending toxic waste disposal in incinerators, dumps, and landfills, and to establish systems that are socially and environmentally just in their place. The plan encompasses waste reduction, reuse, composting, recycling, changes in consumption habits, and industrial redesign—strategies that create more resilient communities, climate solutions, social equity, and healthier environments.

Zero waste is therefore a means towards environmental goals and a holistic tool for social intervention towards well-being for all.

Zero waste is a revolution in the way we take, make, and waste.

5
Pillars of Zero Waste
1
Set a goal to Zero Waste
2
Hold producers accountable
3
Encourage responsible consumption habits
4
Build Zero Waste infrastructure
5
Prioritize social and environmental justice

WHY ZERO WASTE MATTERS

Our world currently generates 2.01 billion tons of waste annually, and unless significant action is taken, waste is projected to increase by 70% to 3.4 billion tons by 2050. Every minute, one garbage truck of plastic is dumped into our oceans, polluting not just our oceans but also our bodies with microplastics in our food, air, and drinking water. Meanwhile, waste is being burned in incinerators around the world, causing emissions of greenhouse gases, heavy metals, and persistent organic pollutants that are poisoning surrounding communities—disproportionately harming lower income communities, communities of color, marginalized communities, and many communities across the Global South.

Tackling our current waste crisis calls for systemic change. Zero waste is a real solution built on 5 pillars that betters peoples’ lives and safeguards our environment. Through policies, programs, and infrastructure to minimize municipal waste streams and sustainably manage what’s left, cities can support local economic development and livelihoods, improve air quality, and mitigate climate change.

©Anto Astudillo/GAIA

WHY ZERO WASTE IS ATTAINABLE

Zero waste is ambitious, but it is neither unachievable nor part of some far-off future. In small towns and big cities, in communities rich and poor, in the Global North and South, innovative plans in place today are making real progress toward the goal of zero waste.

Planning for a zero waste city or community doesn’t necessarily mean not producing any waste. As with many other policies, zero waste is a trajectory to avoid waste by ultimately eliminating materials that can not be safely reused, recycled, or composted. Similar to a city setting a goal for zero pedestrian fatalities, zero waste goals assert that our current system is not acceptable. By implementing zero waste plans, cities then build the policies, programs, and infrastructure needed to get as close to the goal of zero as possible.

Cities around the world are already taking action to achieve zero waste. 400 municipalities have committed to zero waste in Europe alone, and cities across Europe and Asia are modeling zero waste solutions that reduce waste by up to 80%! Through pioneering zero waste systems, these cities saved money, significantly reduced the amount of waste they generated, and created sustainable jobs.

©Rommel Cabrera/GAIA

Why Zero Waste Works

 

48% of global carbon dioxide emissions can be reduced by 2030 through switching to a circular economy.

Zero waste systems create up to 200 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Zero Waste avoids the impacts from incinerators, landfills, and open burning.