去零浪费

什么是零浪费?

“通过负责任地生产、消费、再利用和回收产品、包装和材料来保护所有资源,不燃烧,也不向土地、水或空气排放威胁环境或人类健康的物质。” —— 零废物国际联盟

我们目前的采掘经济是一个系统的一部分,该系统每年将数十亿吨废物输送到我们的陆地、海洋和空中,并继续伤害越来越多的人。 零废物用一个更可持续的循环系统取代了这种单向模式,该系统侧重于废物预防,并强调社区内的责任链、连通性和包容性,例如非正式废物拾荒者的正式整合。 零废物国际联盟对“零废物”的同行评审和国际认可的定义很重要,更重要的是坚持,因为实现零废物的道路对每个城市和社区来说都是独一无二的,但指导零浪费努力是共同的和坚定不移的。

在实践层面,零浪费既是目标也是行动计划。 目标是通过以下方式确保资源回收并保护稀缺的自然资源 结束焚烧炉中的有毒废物处置、垃圾场和垃圾填埋场,并建立在社会和环境方面都适合的系统。 该计划包括减少废物、再利用、堆肥、回收、改变 消费习惯和工业再设计——策略 创建更有弹性的社区、气候解决方案、社会公平和更健康的环境。

因此,零浪费是实现环境目标的一种手段,也是实现所有人福祉的社会干预的整体工具。

零浪费是我们获取、制造和浪费方式的一场革命。

5
零浪费的支柱
1
设定零浪费目标
2
追究生产者的责任
3
鼓励负责任的消费习惯
4
建立零废物基础设施
5
优先考虑社会和环境正义

为什么零废物很重要

我们的世界目前每年产生 2.01 亿吨垃圾,除非采取重大行动,否则预计到 70 年垃圾将增加 3.4%,达到 2050 亿吨。每分钟,一辆塑料垃圾车被倾倒到我们的海洋中,不仅污染我们的海洋以及我们的身体,食物、空气和饮用水中都含有微塑料。 同时, 垃圾在世界各地的焚化炉中燃烧,导致温室气体、重金属和持久性有机污染物的排放,使周围社区中毒——不成比例地伤害低收入社区、有色人种社区、边缘化社区以及全球南方的许多社区.

解决我们当前的废物危机需要系统性的改变。 零浪费是建立在 5 个支柱之上的真正解决方案,它可以改善人们的生活并保护我们的环境。 通过政策、计划和基础设施 为了最大限度地减少城市垃圾流并可持续地管理剩余物,城市可以支持当地经济发展和生计,改善空气质量并缓解气候变化。

©Anto Astudillo / GAIA

为什么可以实现零浪费

零浪费是雄心勃勃的,但它既不是无法实现的,也不是遥远未来的一部分。 在小城镇和大城市,无论贫富社区,在全球北方和南方,今天实施的创新计划正在朝着零浪费的目标取得真正的进展。

规划零废物城市或社区并不一定意味着不产生任何废物。 与许多其他政策一样,零浪费是通过最终消除无法安全再利用、回收或堆肥的材料来避免浪费的途径。 与设定行人零死亡目标的城市类似,零浪费目标表明我们当前的系统是不可接受的。 通过实施零废物计划,城市随后会制定尽可能接近零废物目标所需的政策、计划和基础设施。

世界各地的城市已经在采取行动以实现零浪费。 仅在欧洲就有 400 个城市承诺实现零废物 欧洲 以及 亚洲 正在建模零浪费解决方案,最多可减少 80% 的浪费! 通过开创性的零废物系统,这些城市节省了资金,显着减少了产生的废物量,并创造了可持续的就业机会。

©Rommel Cabrera / GAIA

为什么零废物有效

 

48% 到 2030 年,通过转向循环经济可以减少全球二氧化碳排放量。

零废物系统创建多达 200倍 与垃圾填埋场和焚化炉一样多的工作。

零废物避免了焚化炉、垃圾填埋场和露天焚烧的影响。

Going Zero Waste

What is Zero Waste?

“The conservation of all resources by means of responsible production, consumption, reuse, and recovery of products, packaging, and materials without burning, and with no discharges to land, water, or air that threaten the environment or human health.” – Zero Waste International Alliance

Our current extractive economy is part of a system that sends billions of tons of waste a year into our land, oceans and air, and that continues to harm more and more people. Zero waste replaces this one-way model with a more sustainable, cyclical system that focuses on waste prevention and emphasizes chains of responsibility, connectivity, and inclusivity within communities, such as the formal integration of informal waste pickers and. The peer-reviewed and internationally recognized definition of “zero waste” by the Zero Waste International Alliance is important to pinpoint and even more important to uphold, as the path to zero waste will be unique to every city and community but the underlying values that direct zero waste efforts are shared and unwavering.

On a practical level, zero waste is both a goal and a plan of action. The goal is to ensure resource recovery and protect scarce natural resources by ending toxic waste disposal in incinerators, dumps, and landfills, and to establish systems that are socially and environmentally just in their place. The plan encompasses waste reduction, reuse, composting, recycling, changes in consumption habits, and industrial redesign—strategies that create more resilient communities, climate solutions, social equity, and healthier environments.

Zero waste is therefore a means towards environmental goals and a holistic tool for social intervention towards well-being for all.

Zero waste is a revolution in the way we take, make, and waste.

5
Pillars of Zero Waste
1
Set a goal to Zero Waste
2
Hold producers accountable
3
Encourage responsible consumption habits
4
Build Zero Waste infrastructure
5
Prioritize social and environmental justice

WHY ZERO WASTE MATTERS

Our world currently generates 2.01 billion tons of waste annually, and unless significant action is taken, waste is projected to increase by 70% to 3.4 billion tons by 2050. Every minute, one garbage truck of plastic is dumped into our oceans, polluting not just our oceans but also our bodies with microplastics in our food, air, and drinking water. Meanwhile, waste is being burned in incinerators around the world, causing emissions of greenhouse gases, heavy metals, and persistent organic pollutants that are poisoning surrounding communities—disproportionately harming lower income communities, communities of color, marginalized communities, and many communities across the Global South.

Tackling our current waste crisis calls for systemic change. Zero waste is a real solution built on 5 pillars that betters peoples’ lives and safeguards our environment. Through policies, programs, and infrastructure to minimize municipal waste streams and sustainably manage what’s left, cities can support local economic development and livelihoods, improve air quality, and mitigate climate change.

©Anto Astudillo/GAIA

WHY ZERO WASTE IS ATTAINABLE

Zero waste is ambitious, but it is neither unachievable nor part of some far-off future. In small towns and big cities, in communities rich and poor, in the Global North and South, innovative plans in place today are making real progress toward the goal of zero waste.

Planning for a zero waste city or community doesn’t necessarily mean not producing any waste. As with many other policies, zero waste is a trajectory to avoid waste by ultimately eliminating materials that can not be safely reused, recycled, or composted. Similar to a city setting a goal for zero pedestrian fatalities, zero waste goals assert that our current system is not acceptable. By implementing zero waste plans, cities then build the policies, programs, and infrastructure needed to get as close to the goal of zero as possible.

Cities around the world are already taking action to achieve zero waste. 400 municipalities have committed to zero waste in Europe alone, and cities across Europe and Asia are modeling zero waste solutions that reduce waste by up to 80%! Through pioneering zero waste systems, these cities saved money, significantly reduced the amount of waste they generated, and created sustainable jobs.

©Rommel Cabrera/GAIA

Why Zero Waste Works

 

48% of global carbon dioxide emissions can be reduced by 2030 through switching to a circular economy.

Zero waste systems create up to 200 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Zero Waste avoids the impacts from incinerators, landfills, and open burning.