正义与公平

一个基于人类价值观和环境正义的社会

零浪费社会不是基于与企业利润相关的价值观,而是基于与社区、文化、健康、尊重和公平相关的人类价值观。 零浪费与保护资源一样重要,它同样与我们进行这种保护的包容性、公平性和公正性有关。

社会正义起着核心作用,因为它与环境正义有着内在的联系。 剧毒焚化炉、垃圾场、垃圾填埋场和焚烧设施不成比例地位于低收入社区、有色人种社区和边缘化社区. 因此,这些负担过重的社区被迫付出最高的代价,并且有权知道这些设施对其健康和环境造成的真实成本。

O我们当前的废物危机和破产的回收系统也对全球南方国家产生了不对称的影响,而全球北方国家则向这些国家卸载废物. 任何社区都不应该被别人的垃圾拖累。 废物殖民主义加剧了结构性不平等,尽管废物工人从事危险且无价的工作,但这种不平等在对待废物的方式上是显而易见的。

为了治愈我们废物危机中普遍存在的系统性不平等和制度性种族主义,受废物影响最严重的社区必须在资源分配和零废物计划的设计中拥有中心发言权,如果这些计划要公正和公平的话。

在许多国家,拾荒者从零开始,不顾一切地建立回收系统。 政府必须承认他们的贡献,并通过为他们提供有尊严的生计,正式将他们纳入我们的经济,并投资于他们的工作,使他们成为零废物计划的核心。

正义与公平在行动

在萨索尔堡(南非)和布宜诺斯艾利斯(阿根廷),尽管为社区提供了至关重要的服务,但非正式回收商在危险的条件下工作并且经常受到执法部门的骚扰。 这些工人联合起来组建了强大的合作社,争取并最终赢得了正式承认城市工人的权利,并获得丰厚的工资和保护。

在波士顿,提供食物垃圾分流和收集服务的堆肥公司 CERO 的创始人注意到,尽管人们对可持续性的兴趣和投资不断增加,但这些投资几乎没有针对边缘化社区。 通过为低收入社区和有色人种社区创建工人合作社,CERO 成为可持续发展和公平的典范。

成员对 GAIA 的评价

全球各地的拾荒者和工人都受到大流行的严重打击。 他们对社区的贡献至关重要,但他们经常被所服务的社区忽视。 倾听那些值得更多、值得更好的人的声音。

有一次,他们仅仅因为试图通过收集本来会被浪费掉的可回收物来养家糊口而受到骚扰,甚至被判入狱。 由于无畏的组织,布宜诺斯艾利斯的回收合作社现在赢得了体面和有尊严的生活,并使他们的城市更接近零浪费。
零浪费是社会正义。 阿根廷布宜诺斯艾利斯。
南非萨索尔堡的回收中心,由拾荒者经营,在国内堪称典范。 由于强大的拾荒者运动,该中心已成为中央拾荒者权利对于健康回收系统的光辉典范。
拾荒者运动改变了南非的回收利用
Lorem存有悲坐阿梅德,consectetur adipiscing ELIT,sed的根本eiusmod tempor incididunt UT labore等dolore麦格纳aliqua。 UT enim广告微量veniam,QUIS nostrud实习ullamco laboris暂准UT aliquip前EA commodo consequat。 DUIS奥特irure悲在reprehenderit在voluptate velit埃塞cillum dolore欧盟fugiat法无pariatur。 Excepteur SINT occaecat cupidatat非proident,必须遵守的过失魁正式开通了deserunt mollit阿尼姆ID EST laborum。
Lorem ipsum dolor坐在amet consectetur adipiscing精英

零废物系统与传统废物管理

修复创建结束 工作量是原来的 200 倍 作为垃圾填埋场和焚化炉。

回收再造 工作量是原来的 50 倍 作为垃圾填埋场和焚化炉。

再制造几乎创造了 工作量是原来的 30 倍 作为垃圾填埋场和焚化炉。

Justice & Equity

A SOCIETY BASED ON HUMAN VALUES & ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE

A zero waste society isn’t based on values related to corporate profit, but on human values related to community, culture, health, respect, and equity. As much as zero waste is about conserving resources, it is equally about the inclusive, equitable, and just manner by which we go about this conservation.

Social justice plays a central role, as it’s inherently tied to environmental justice. Highly toxic incinerators, dumps, landfills, and burn facilities are disproportionately located in lower income communities, communities of color, and marginalized communities. These overburdened communities are therefore forced to pay the highest price, and have a right to know the true cost these facilities have on their health and environment.

Our current waste crisis and bankrupt recycling system also asymmetrically affects countries in the Global South, to which countries in the Global North offload their waste. No community should be burdened with another’s trash. Waste colonialism reinforces structural inequalities, which is blatant in the way waste workers are treated despite their perilous and invaluable work.

In order to heal the systemic inequalities & institutional racism endemic to our waste crisis, communities most impacted by waste must have a central voice in the distribution of resources and the design of zero waste programs if these are to be just and equitable.

In many countries, waste pickers built recycling systems from scratch and against all odds. It is imperative that governments acknowledge their contributions and make them central to their zero waste plans by providing them with a dignified livelihood, formally including them in our economy, and investing in their work.

JUSTICE & EQUITY IN ACTION

In Sasolburg (South Africa) and Buenos Aires (Argentina), informal recyclers worked in dangerous conditions and were often harassed by law enforcement, despite providing a vital service to the community. These workers banded together to form powerful cooperatives that fought—and eventually won—the right to be recognized formally as city workers, with good wages and protections.

In Boston, founders of CERO, a composting company providing food waste diversion and pick up services, noticed that although there was a rising interest and investment in sustainability, little to none of that investment was directed towards marginalized communities. By creating a worker cooperative by and for lower income communities and communities of color, CERO became a model of both sustainability and equity.

WHAT MEMBERS SAY ABOUT GAIA

Waste pickers and workers around the globe were badly hit by the pandemic. Their contribution to the community is vital, yet they are often neglected by the community they serve. Listen to the voices of those who deserve more, and deserve better.

Once they were harassed and even jailed just for trying to feed their families by collecting recyclables that would have otherwise been wasted. Thanks to fearless organizing, recycling cooperatives of Buenos Aires have now won a decent and dignified living and are bringing their city closer to zero waste.
ZERO WASTE IS SOCIAL JUSTICE. BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA.
The recycling centre in Sasolburg, South Africa, operated by waste pickers, it is a model in the country. Because of the strong waste picker movement, this centre has become a shining example of how central waste picker rights are to a healthy recycling system.
THE WASTE PICKER MOVEMENT TRANSFORMED RECYCLING IN SOUTH AFRICA
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur adipiscing elit

Zero waste systems vs. traditional waste management

Repair creates over 200 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Recycling creates over 50 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Remanufacturing creates almost 30 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.