العدل والإنصاف

مجتمع قائم على القيم الإنسانية والعدالة البيئية

لا يعتمد مجتمع صفر نفايات على القيم المتعلقة بأرباح الشركات ، ولكن على القيم الإنسانية المتعلقة بالمجتمع والثقافة والصحة والاحترام والإنصاف. بقدر ما يتعلق الأمر بعدم وجود نفايات بالحفاظ على الموارد ، فإنه يتعلق أيضًا بالطريقة الشاملة والعادلة والعادلة التي نتبعها في هذا الحفظ.

تلعب العدالة الاجتماعية دورًا مركزيًا ، لأنها مرتبطة بطبيعتها بالعدالة البيئية. توجد المحارق عالية السمية ، والمقالب ، ومدافن النفايات ، ومرافق الحرق بشكل غير متناسب في المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض ، والمجتمعات الملونة ، والمجتمعات المهمشة. وبالتالي ، تضطر هذه المجتمعات المثقلة بالأعباء إلى دفع أعلى سعر ، ولها الحق في معرفة التكلفة الحقيقية لهذه المرافق على صحتها وبيئتها.

Oتؤثر أزمة النفايات الحالية ونظام إعادة التدوير المفلس بشكل غير متماثل على بلدان الجنوب العالمي ، حيث تفرغ دول الشمال من نفاياتها.. يجب ألا يُثقل أي مجتمع بقمامة شخص آخر. يعزز استعمار النفايات من عدم المساواة الهيكلية ، وهو أمر صارخ في الطريقة التي يتم بها معالجة عمال النفايات على الرغم من عملهم المحفوف بالمخاطر والذي لا يقدر بثمن.

من أجل معالجة التفاوتات النظامية والعنصرية المؤسسية المتوطنة في أزمة النفايات لدينا ، يجب أن يكون للمجتمعات الأكثر تضررًا من النفايات صوتًا مركزيًا في توزيع الموارد وتصميم برامج صفر نفايات إذا أريد أن تكون عادلة ومنصفة.

في العديد من البلدان ، بنى ملتقطو النفايات أنظمة إعادة التدوير من الصفر وضد كل الصعاب. من الضروري أن تقر الحكومات بمساهماتها وتجعلها مركزية في خططها الخالية من النفايات من خلال تزويدها بمعيشة كريمة ، وإدراجها رسميًا في اقتصادنا ، والاستثمار في عملهم.

العدالة والمساواة في العمل

في ساسولبورغ (جنوب إفريقيا) وبوينس آيريس (الأرجنتين) ، عمل القائمون على إعادة التدوير غير الرسميين في ظروف خطرة وغالبًا ما تعرضوا للمضايقة من قبل سلطات إنفاذ القانون ، على الرغم من تقديم خدمة حيوية للمجتمع. اجتمع هؤلاء العمال معًا لتشكيل تعاونيات قوية ناضلت - وفازت في النهاية - بالحق في الاعتراف بها رسميًا كعاملين في المدينة ، بأجور وحماية جيدة.

في بوسطن ، لاحظ مؤسسو شركة CERO ، وهي شركة سماد تقدم خدمات تحويل نفايات الطعام والتقاطها ، أنه على الرغم من وجود اهتمام متزايد واستثمار في الاستدامة ، إلا أن القليل من هذا الاستثمار موجه نحو المجتمعات المهمشة. من خلال إنشاء تعاونية عمالية من قبل المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمجتمعات الملونة ، أصبح CERO نموذجًا لكل من الاستدامة والإنصاف.

ماذا يقول الأعضاء عن GAIA

تضرر جامعو النفايات والعمال في جميع أنحاء العالم بشدة من الوباء. مساهمتهم في المجتمع أمر حيوي ، ومع ذلك غالبًا ما يتم إهمالهم من قبل المجتمع الذي يخدمونه. استمع لأصوات الذين يستحقون أكثر ويستحقون أفضل.

بمجرد تعرضهم للمضايقة وحتى السجن لمجرد محاولتهم إطعام عائلاتهم من خلال جمع المواد القابلة لإعادة التدوير التي كانت ستُهدر لولا ذلك. بفضل التنظيم الجريء ، اكتسبت تعاونيات إعادة التدوير في بوينس آيرس الآن حياة كريمة وكريمة وتقرب مدينتهم من الصفر.
لا نفايات هو العدالة الاجتماعية. بوينس ايرس ، الأرجنتين.
يعتبر مركز إعادة التدوير في ساسولبورغ ، جنوب إفريقيا ، الذي يديره ملتقطو النفايات ، نموذجًا في البلاد. بسبب حركة ملتقط النفايات القوية ، أصبح هذا المركز مثالًا ساطعًا على كيفية حقوق ملتقط النفايات المركزية في نظام إعادة التدوير الصحي.
تحولت حركة منتقي النفايات في إعادة التدوير في جنوب إفريقيا
لوريم إيبسوم دولور سيت أميت، كونسكتيتور أديبيسشينغ إليت، سيد دو إيسمود تيمبور إنسيدونت أوت لابور إت دولور ماغنا أليكوا. أوت إنيم أد مينيم فينيام، كويس نوسترود إكسيرسيساتيون أولامكو لابوريس نيسي أوت أليكيب إكس إي كومودو ثوسكات. دويس أوت إيرور دولور إن ريبرهندريت إن فولوبتات فيليت إس سيلوم دولور يو فوجيات نولا بارياتور. استثنائي سينت أوكيكات كوبيداتات نون برويدنت، سونت إن كولبا كوي أوفيسيا ديسيرونت موليت أنيم إد إست لابوروم.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur adipiscing elit

أنظمة صفر نفايات مقابل إدارة النفايات التقليدية

إصلاح يخلق أكثر 200 ضعف عدد الوظائف كمدافن للقمامة والمحارق.

إعادة التدوير يخلق أكثر 50 ضعف عدد الوظائف كمدافن للقمامة والمحارق.

إعادة التصنيع يخلق تقريبا 30 ضعف عدد الوظائف كمدافن للقمامة والمحارق.

Justice & Equity

A SOCIETY BASED ON HUMAN VALUES & ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE

A zero waste society isn’t based on values related to corporate profit, but on human values related to community, culture, health, respect, and equity. As much as zero waste is about conserving resources, it is equally about the inclusive, equitable, and just manner by which we go about this conservation.

Social justice plays a central role, as it’s inherently tied to environmental justice. Highly toxic incinerators, dumps, landfills, and burn facilities are disproportionately located in lower income communities, communities of color, and marginalized communities. These overburdened communities are therefore forced to pay the highest price, and have a right to know the true cost these facilities have on their health and environment.

Our current waste crisis and bankrupt recycling system also asymmetrically affects countries in the Global South, to which countries in the Global North offload their waste. No community should be burdened with another’s trash. Waste colonialism reinforces structural inequalities, which is blatant in the way waste workers are treated despite their perilous and invaluable work.

In order to heal the systemic inequalities & institutional racism endemic to our waste crisis, communities most impacted by waste must have a central voice in the distribution of resources and the design of zero waste programs if these are to be just and equitable.

In many countries, waste pickers built recycling systems from scratch and against all odds. It is imperative that governments acknowledge their contributions and make them central to their zero waste plans by providing them with a dignified livelihood, formally including them in our economy, and investing in their work.

JUSTICE & EQUITY IN ACTION

In Sasolburg (South Africa) and Buenos Aires (Argentina), informal recyclers worked in dangerous conditions and were often harassed by law enforcement, despite providing a vital service to the community. These workers banded together to form powerful cooperatives that fought—and eventually won—the right to be recognized formally as city workers, with good wages and protections.

In Boston, founders of CERO, a composting company providing food waste diversion and pick up services, noticed that although there was a rising interest and investment in sustainability, little to none of that investment was directed towards marginalized communities. By creating a worker cooperative by and for lower income communities and communities of color, CERO became a model of both sustainability and equity.

WHAT MEMBERS SAY ABOUT GAIA

Waste pickers and workers around the globe were badly hit by the pandemic. Their contribution to the community is vital, yet they are often neglected by the community they serve. Listen to the voices of those who deserve more, and deserve better.

Once they were harassed and even jailed just for trying to feed their families by collecting recyclables that would have otherwise been wasted. Thanks to fearless organizing, recycling cooperatives of Buenos Aires have now won a decent and dignified living and are bringing their city closer to zero waste.
ZERO WASTE IS SOCIAL JUSTICE. BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA.
The recycling centre in Sasolburg, South Africa, operated by waste pickers, it is a model in the country. Because of the strong waste picker movement, this centre has become a shining example of how central waste picker rights are to a healthy recycling system.
THE WASTE PICKER MOVEMENT TRANSFORMED RECYCLING IN SOUTH AFRICA
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur adipiscing elit

Zero waste systems vs. traditional waste management

Repair creates over 200 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Recycling creates over 50 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.

Remanufacturing creates almost 30 times as many jobs as landfills and incinerators.