إعادة التدوير الكيميائي

تدفع الصناعة الآن باتجاه إصلاح تكنولوجي جديد للنفايات البلاستيكية ، يسمى "إعادة التدوير الكيميائي". تظهر مقترحات جديدة في أستراليا ، والاتحاد الأوروبي ، وإندونيسيا ، وماليزيا ، وتايلاند ، والولايات المتحدة ، بدعم متزايد من التشريعات المواتية. في حين أن مرافق تحويل البلاستيك إلى بلاستيك (P2P) ومنشآت تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود (PTF) مختلفة من حيث المبدأ ، فإن الصناعة تروج بشكل متزايد لبعض المرافق على أنها "إعادة تدوير كيميائية" ، بينما في الواقع ، تحول هذه الشركات البلاستيك مرة أخرى إلى وقود أحفوري ، يتم حرقه لاحقًا. إن وعود صناعة البلاستيك بـ "تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود" و "إعادة التدوير الكيميائي" هي إلهاء. تبرر هذه الحلول الخاطئة استمرار إنتاج البلاستيك ولا تعالج مصدر المشكلة.

وسط التلوث البلاستيكي الهائل والارتفاع الهائل في إنتاج البلاستيك ، روجت صناعة الوقود الأحفوري لإعادة التدوير الكيميائي أو "المتقدم" كحل لأزمة البلاستيك. ومع ذلك ، من خلال بحث مكثف كشفت GAIA أن الطبيعة الحقيقية لـ "إعادة التدوير الكيميائي" لا ترقى إلى مستوى الضجيج الصناعي.

في 2017-2020 ، قادت صناعة البلاستيك والكيماويات ، ممثلة بمجلس الكيمياء الأمريكي (ACC) ، جهدًا لإجراء تغييرات تشريعية على السياسات على مستوى الولاية لتعزيز الانحلال الحراري أو "تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود" (PTF).

تلخص ورقة الحقائق هذه نتائج تقرير All Talk and No Recycling. وهو ما يخلص إلى أنه نظرًا لحجم مشكلة التلوث البلاستيكي وإلحاحها ، ليس لدينا المزيد من الوقت لإهدار الحلول التقنية للغسيل الأخضر مثل مشاريع "إعادة التدوير الكيميائي".

في حين أن مرافق تحويل البلاستيك إلى بلاستيك (P2P) ومنشآت تحويل البلاستيك إلى وقود (PTF) مختلفة من حيث المبدأ ، فإن الصناعة تروج بشكل متزايد لبعض المرافق على أنها "إعادة تدوير كيميائية" ، بينما في الواقع ، تحول هذه الشركات البلاستيك مرة أخرى إلى وقود أحفوري ، يتم حرقه لاحقًا.

بالاعتماد على التقييم الفني لإعادة تدوير المواد الكيميائية الصادر في يونيو 2020 ، يكشف هذا الملخص النقاب عن تقنيات مختلفة يشار إليها باسم "إعادة التدوير الكيميائي" ويتناول السمية ، والآثار المناخية ، والاستعداد التكنولوجي ، والجدوى المالية ، ودوران العمليات.

تقدم هذه الورقة المشتركة النتائج الرئيسية من مراجعة بعض أكثر عمليات إعادة التدوير الكيميائية واستردادها شيوعًا ، والتي تكشف عن عيوب ونقاط ضعف رئيسية فيما يتعلق بالدقة العلمية وجودة البيانات وطرق الحساب وتفسيرات النتائج.

يكشف التقرير أن إعادة التدوير الكيميائي ملوث ، ويستهلك الكثير من الطاقة ، وله سجل حافل من الإخفاقات الفنية ، ويخلص إلى أنه من المستحيل أن تكون إعادة التدوير الكيميائي حلاً قابلاً للتطبيق في الفترة الزمنية القصيرة المتبقية لحل مشكلة البلاستيك ، خاصةً في المقياس المطلوب.

وسط التلوث البلاستيكي الهائل والارتفاع الهائل في إنتاج البلاستيك ، روجت صناعة الوقود الأحفوري لإعادة التدوير الكيميائي أو "المتقدم" كحل لأزمة البلاستيك.

في ضوء البيانات الترويجية الأخيرة من مزودي التكنولوجيا والحكومات والمؤسسات الأكاديمية والبحثية ، يبحث هذا التقرير في التطبيق المقترح لتحويل النفايات البلدية إلى وقود ، وتحديداً لمحركات الطائرات التوربينية الغازية.

في عالم تتفاقم فيه أزمات المناخ والنفايات بمعدل مذهل ، قد تبدو فكرة تحويل النفايات إلى وقود حلاً رائعًا.

وسط التلوث البلاستيكي الهائل والارتفاع الهائل في إنتاج البلاستيك ، روجت صناعة الوقود الأحفوري لإعادة التدوير الكيميائي أو "المتقدم" كحل لأزمة البلاستيك.

Chemical Recycling

Industry is now pushing for a new technological fix for plastic waste, called “chemical recycling.” New proposals are popping up in Australia, the EU, Indonesia, Malaysia,Thailand, and the U.S., increasingly supported by favorable legislation. While plastics-to-plastics (P2P) and plastics-to-fuel (PTF) facilities are in principle different, industry increasingly touts certain facilities as “chemical recycling,” when in fact, these companies turn plastic back into a fossil fuel, which is later burned. The plastic industry’s promises of “plastic to fuel” & “chemical recycling” are a distraction. These false solutions justify the continued production of plastic and don’t address the source of the problem.

Amid overwhelming plastic pollution and an exponential rise in plastic production, the fossil fuel industry has touted chemical or “advanced” recycling as a solution to the plastic crisis. However, through extensive research GAIA has uncovered that the true nature of “chemical recycling” falls far short of the industry hype.

In 2017-2020, the plastics and chemical industry, represented by the American Chemistry Council (ACC), led an effort to make legislative changes to statewide policies to promote pyrolysis or “plastic-to-fuel” (PTF).

This factsheet summarizes the findings of the All Talk and No Recycling report. Which concludes that given the scale and urgency of the plastic pollution problem we don’t have any more time to waste on greenwashing tech-fixes like “chemical recycling” projects.

While plastics-to-plastics (P2P) and plastics-to-fuel (PTF) facilities are in principle different, industry increasingly touts certain facilities as “chemical recycling,” when in fact, these companies turn plastic back into a fossil fuel, which is later burned.

Drawing on the Chemical Recycling technical assessment released in June 2020, this briefing unveils various technologies referred to as “chemical recycling” and addresses toxicity, climate implications, technology readiness, financial viability, and circularity of the processes.

This joint paper presents key findings from a review of some of the most commonly cited chemical recycling and recovery LCAs, which reveal major flaws and weaknesses regarding scientific rigour, data quality, calculation methods, and interpretations of the results.

The report reveals that chemical recycling is polluting, energy intensive, and has a track record of technical failures, and concludes that it is impossible for chemical recycling to be a viable solution in the short window of time left to solve the plastic problem, especially at the scale needed.

Amid overwhelming plastic pollution and an exponential rise in plastic production, the fossil fuel industry has touted chemical or “advanced” recycling as a solution to the plastic crisis.

In light of recent promotional statements from technology providers, governments, and academic and research institutions, this report looks at the proposed application of converting municipal waste into fuel, namely for gas turbine aircraft engines.

In a world where climate and waste crises are worsening at a staggering rate, the idea of turning waste into fuels might sound like a great solution.