Rossano Ercolini, President of the Board

Rossano is a primary school teacher, and passionate Zero Waste leader. He has more than 20 years experience in the waste field and is a leading name of the zero waste movement in Italy. As a result of his efforts his home-town Capannori was the first European city to declare the goal of zero waste by 2020. He has helped the Zero Waste movement grow beyond the Italian borders into what is now the Zero Waste Europe movement. In 2013 Rossano was awarded the Goldman Environmental Prize, considered the “Green Nobel Prize” for his contributions to the Zero Waste movement in Italy.

Xiaowei Liu, Treasurer

Xiaowei work as Operations Manager at Seas at Risk. She is a seasoned leader in external relations and a Gallup certified Strengths Coach, with track record in leading teams of various sizes across large geographies; skilled in Brand positioning, Media Relations, Corporate Social Responsibility, Investor Relations, and issue & Crisis management; passionate about using strength-based development to help others learn, grow develop, and succeed.

Huub Scheele, Secretary

Huub Scheele is Treasurer of the Board and works for Both Ends in the Netherlands. He has experience in environmental science and pollution and has worked extensively in Eastern Europe. He also has experience working in Latin America and has been involved in numerous environmental organisations.

Elena Rastei, Board Member

Elena Rastei works as an architect and volunteers as President of Zero Waste Romania and board member of the Green Building Council in Romania.

Antigone Dalamaga, Board Member

Antigone Dalamaga is the Director of the Ecological Recycling Society. She represents the NGO both in Zero Waste Europe and in the RREUSE (Reuse and Recycling European Union Social Enterprises) where she has been president for the last 7 years. She has over 20 years’ experience in the field of Sustainable Waste Management at the local, national, and international levels and how it links to to job creation.

Alexandra Aubertin, Board Member

Alexandra works as Director at Zero Waste Montenegro and is the owner of Znuggle, a social enterprise active in the field of circular economy. She studied chemical engineering and environment and resource management.


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee ensures the technical consistency and feasibility of our policies and gives advice to the Board. The Committee is composed of renowned experts in the field of waste management.

Enzo Favoino, Chair of Scientific Committee

Enzo is a technical expert and researcher at the Scuola Agraria del Parco di Monza, and has decades of experience of separate waste collection, recycling, composting and prevention. Enzo is an expert in EU waste legislation and is highly knowledgeable in the field of European policy-making. He is one of the founders of the European Compost Network, and the coordinator of the Scientific Committee of the Zero Waste Research Centre in Italy.